New Van Dyke Parks album out in May

Following the success of his classic album reissues last year British label Bella Union is thrilled and to announce a new album from legendary composer, musician, lyricist, producer and singer Van Dyke Parks.

Parks has only released one live album, one soundtrack and one compilation album in the last 24 years, but “Songs Cycled” – which will be released on May 6th – contains the American’s first new material since 1989, expanding even further Parks’ unique handle on Americana with the crystal clarity of a 21st century recording. All this in Park’s 70th year, which makes “Songs Cycled” special in many ways.

Alongside new originals (which were in fact briefly available as part of Parks’ 7″ series for his own label, Banastan, in late 2011/early 2012) such as ‘Dreaming of Paris’, ‘Wall Street’ and ‘Missin’ Missippi’, new collaborations such as ‘Sassafras’ and ‘Money Is King’, there are new cover versions and re-recordings of older tracks, and guest vocals from Gaby Moreno and Inara George.

The track listing for “Songs Cycled” is as follows:
1. ‘Dreaming of Paris’ (original)
2. ‘Hold Back Time’ (re-recording of a 1995 song from the Orange Crate Art album with Brian Wilson)
3. ‘Sassafras’ (new recording, originally by Billy Edd Wheeler in 1961)
4. ‘Black Gold’ (November 30, ‘02 – a fantasy on the sinking of The Prestige, off the coast of the Bay of Biscay)
5. ‘Aquarium’ (cover of 1886 Saint-Saëns piece, an analogue recording with the Esso Trinidad Steel Band in 1971, produced by Van Dyke Parks)
6. ‘Money Is King’ (picks up where Wall Street ends, written with Growling Tiger, a.k.a.- Trinidadian Calypso musician Neville Marcano)
7. ‘Wall Street’ (original)
8. ‘The Parting Hand’ (1835 hymn from the tradition of unaccompanied choral music known as the Sacred Harp)
9. ‘The All Golden’ (new recording from Parks’ 1967 album Song Cycle)
10. ‘Wedding in Madagascar’(traditional a capella folk-song, arranged and adapted by VDP)
11. ‘Missin’ Missippi’ (original)
12. ‘Amazing Graces’ (instrumental with the ‘Van Dyke Parks Orchestra’)

Van Dyke Parks fans should also note that on Record Store Day 2013 Bella Union will release “Super Chief: Music For The Silver Screen”, an ‘orchestral fantasy’ inspired by a rail journey Van Dyke embarked upon across the United States in 1955. This previously unreleased album will be made available for the first time on very limited vinyl on Saturday 20th April.

Buy Van Dyke Parks albums from