New on Soul Jazz Records: Deutsche Electronische Musik 2

Soul Jazz Records’ new Deutsche Electronische Musik 2 is their second voyage into the world of Krautrock and German electronic music from the 1970s and early 1980s.

This double CD pack (with over 2 ½ hours of music) features a line-up of seminal German groups: Can, Faust, Popul Vuh, Neu, Cluster, Amon Duul II, La Dusseldorf, as well as a host of lesser known and more obscure groups and artists such as Agitation Free, Broselmachine, Niagara and many more.

As well as the original pioneers, Deutsche Electronische Musik 2 also features many of the second wave of German electronic artists and groups from the late 70s and early 80s (DAF, Asmus Tietchens, Rolf Trostel) who successfully connected new wave, minimal synth and a European post-punk avant-gardism with the earlier more established Krautrock pioneers who began at the start of the 70s.

Influenced as much by the electronic experimentalism of Stockhausen, as the progressive rock of USA and UK underground rock, young German artists seamlessly created a new music with its own unique identity, which they ironically entitled Krautrock. By the end of the 1970s, with the arrival of new wave synthetics and complex drum machines this music had mutated once again into new electronic visions reflecting a new Germany.

The double CD pack comes in classic Soul Jazz slipcase/2CD/book with large booklet and excellent extensive new sleevenotes as well as lots of exclusive photos.

The vinyl edition comes as limited-edition two volumes of heavyweight vinyl, gatefold sleeve double-albums featuring all sleevenotes and text.

Buy Deutsche Elektronische Music 2 from