Soul Jazz Records release Krautrock comp

Soul Jazz Records are to release a new double CD/four-LP compilation called “Elektronische Musik: Experimental German Rock & Electronic Music 1972-1983” in april.

Featuring the likes of Can, Harmonia, Tangerine Dream, Faust, Neu!, Cluster, Amon Düül II and Popol Vuh, this looks like it’s going to be a great introduction for anyone curious about the scene.

From the Soul Jazz website: “The objectives of German experimental rock and electronic music in the 1970s were to create a new music ‘free’ from the past. A music that gave seed out of the cultural ‘nothingness’ that young Germans felt as a consequence of Germany’s role in the Second World War. A generation who grew up stifled by the recent history of Nazi atrocities, the guilt of their parents’ generation and their disillusionment at the reintegration of old Nazis into mainstream society.

From the opening of the first collective/cooperative in 1967, Commune 1, in Berlin, to the formation of the Baader-Meinhof terrorist group and the bombings, kidnappings and killings of the Revolutionary Armed Forces (RAF), young Germans sought out new values and a lifestyle outside of ‘the system’.

These cooperative and communal experiences led to a number of new radical German bands including Amon Düül, Faust and Can.”

The two-disc or quadruple vinyl collection, available in early April, will feature 24 tracks.