New Robert Wyatt album

On October 8, 2007 Robert Wyatt is to release his new album and first for Domino Records.

Called ‘Comicopera’, the 16 track album will be available on both CD and double vinyl formats. It was produced by Robert himself, and recorded at his home in Louth as well as Phil Manzanera’s Gallery Studio.

‘Comicopera’ is divided into three Acts – ‘Lost in Noise’, ‘The Here and The Now’, and ‘Away with the Fairies’, and is initially more diverse and live sounding than it’s predecessor ‘Cuckooland’.

Featuring a cast of musicians including Brian Eno, Paul Weller and Phil Manzanera, Robert says he was keen for the album to capture the sound of a group of musicians playing in the room together, but more importantly to have friends playing together. “Music isn’t just an abstract pleasure, it is a company, when you play a record. Why I like Duke Ellington and Charles Mingus, the Big Bands – is because every character in the band is identifiable as that person – there’s this group of humans in a room” he says. It is this that gives ‘Comicopera’ a sense of spontaneity, despite it’s deliberate pacing and construction as something of a three Act ‘Opera’.